Author Topic: all the blueberries have fallen off the bush  (Read 1225 times)

Cerebral Chasm

all the blueberries have fallen off the bush
« on: June 03, 2007, 08:02:24 »
Hi ya, 

Earlier this year I brought a blueberry bush.  I have planted it a large container, in a sheltered position and it looks very healthy with lots of new shoots.  The other month it had lots of bunches of flowers & then lots of blueberries.  However, over the last month or so all the blueberries have fallen off  :'(  The bush gets a mixture of full sun & shade and I have watered regularly.  I have noticed there are a few ants on the bush - could the naughty little blighter's be eating my berries?  Or have I done something wrong?  A friend also brought (from the same place) a bush & planted it in a container & her blueberries are fattening up nicely.

This is the first year I have had a garden - so I am a complete beginner.  My veg patch is doing really well.  And I have also planted raspberries, blackcurrants and a plum tree (with 2 whole plums on it  :D )

Thank you for any help.

Clare  :D

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
Re: all the blueberries have fallen off the bush
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2007, 08:46:41 »
i wonder whether it's still too small to produce fruit. I haven't grown these, but I've seen similar patterns with other young fruit bushes or trees. Gve it a year or two, it will probably be fine.

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2007, 16:32:57 »
hiya, cc, welcome to the site..our blueberries have done the same, I think it's as robert says, ours is too young to have fruit, also, the weather's been so erratic, I think it wonders where it is   :)

cleo

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments 4 All
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2007, 16:50:55 »