Author Topic: rose cuttings  (Read 5850 times)

carrot-cruncher

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments 4 All
rose cuttings
« on: June 02, 2004, 04:20:40 »
Howdy folks,

Does anybody know how to take a cutting from a climbing rose to start another bush?

Also, when's the best time to take the cutting.   The bush in question is just coming into flower & a friend really really loves the colour of the flowers & i've promised her a cutting if I can get one.

"Grow you bugger, grow!!"

Gardengirl

• Hectare
Re:rose cuttings
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2004, 09:22:12 »
Hi CC - I am not an expert on roses but I can tell you that a friend gave me cuttings one autumn and I am pleased to say it grew into the most beautiful climber.  I don't think cuttings should be taken until after they finish flowering, but no doubt someone more knowledgeable will confirm.  I think like most cuttings, it should be taken just below a leaf, on the slant, remove leaves and then plant quite a few inches into the ground.  That's how I did mine and it worked :)
Happy gardening all...........Pat

Muddy_Boots

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: June 02, 2004, 17:18:37 »
No expert here either but I have grown new plants from prunings, taking a pruning with three levels of buds and pushing into ground, leaving the top two buds just above the soil.  Took a while but about half of prunings planted made plants.  Is best with autumn prunings.  They like a bit of sand underneath to improve drainage.

Good luck
Muddy Boots

Garden Manager

• Hectare
  • Denman the Great
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2004, 13:46:38 »
The easiest way to grow roses from cuttings is the 'Hardwood' method.