Author Topic: Help......tomato food  (Read 3001 times)

ina

• Hectare
    • My Homepage
Help......tomato food
« on: May 29, 2004, 23:53:31 »
I used to be able to buy liquid tomato food but now I can't find it anywhere.
Ruud, can you tell me where I could find it in Holland?

Also, what do all you tomato growers out there use for weekly feeding of tomato plants?

« Last Edit: May 30, 2004, 09:47:22 by ina »

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
Re:Ruud in Holland, help......tomato food
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2004, 05:56:33 »
Excuse the intrusion, Ina - but why liquid?
Easier to dilute? Has something that the others don't have? Prettier colour?

Seriously, I have no knowledge on the comparative merits & would appreciate any advice on this. For our bags, we always use diluted commercial 'granules' (inorganic, 2.1.4 ) at every watering.  = Tim
« Last Edit: May 30, 2004, 06:50:21 by tim »

ina

• Hectare
    • My Homepage
Re:Ruud in Holland, help......tomato food
« Reply #2 on: May 30, 2004, 09:41:41 »
Ah, that was stupid to direct this question only to Ruud, maybe I can still change that.
Thanks for you reply Tim.

Still more questions since it looks like I have to do without the liquid food I'm used to and need to learn a new way.
If I can find the granules with the same NPK as yours, how much do you of it do you dissolve in a 10 liter watering can?

After planting out, I did mix some dried stuff with high K into the soil but that would be much too strong for daily or weekly use and I don't want to burn the roots.

Of course I'd like to be as organic is possible but I also would like some control over the feeding of the tomatoes. I have seen the pictures of your tomatoes last year Tim and I think I would be wise to do it your way.

tim

• Hectare
Re:Help......tomato food
« Reply #3 on: May 30, 2004, 11:00:09 »
So trusting, Ina. Don't be fooled by appearances!! And don't do what I do - do what I find that the experts do!!