Author Topic: Bolting Onions  (Read 3693 times)

Mimi

• Hectare
  • Pretty in Pink
Bolting Onions
« on: May 29, 2004, 00:43:53 »
Ok I know that it is my first time growing veggies, but what do I do if me onions start to flower ???  They started life as onion sets and I have had no probs until I went down to the lottie tonight and found that some of them have started to throw up a flower.  If I snip off the flower will that stop them being useless or is it a lost cause????
Take time to stop and smell the flowers.

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
Re:Bolting Onions
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2004, 06:21:42 »
In a word - nip 'em!!

But the ones with a flower stem won't store. = Tim
« Last Edit: May 29, 2004, 06:22:27 by tim »

Hot_Potato

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments 4 All
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2004, 08:10:57 »
have just struggled and giggled my way thru Ozz' reply - great if you're not in a hurry....but thanks for quick direct interpretation Tim  ;) - feel I might need this advice soon, noticed my onion tops are going yellowy!

Mimi

• Hectare
  • Pretty in Pink
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2004, 11:27:31 »
Thank you Ozzy....I think  ???  Where have you been??  Thanks Tim onions have been 'nipped'  and will use them first.  H.P my tips are going yellow too :o :D :o  What do we do???

Hot_Potato

• Hectare
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2004, 15:50:11 »
After visit this morning to lottie...I also nipped off a few heads....Mimi - wonder if the 'yellowing tips' are anything to do with something lacking in the soil....as I've not had my allotment long and was very 'pushed for time'...just got on and dug it and shoved stuff in....notice tho that my lottie neighbour (next door but one) his onion leaves are all a beautiful dark green!!... ???..not gonna worry about it tho cos they look as if they're 'swelling up' ok!

Mimi

• Hectare
  • Pretty in Pink
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2004, 17:14:25 »