Author Topic: Slow cucumbers  (Read 1452 times)

caroline7758

• Hectare
  • Berwick-upon-Tweed
Slow cucumbers
« on: May 12, 2007, 08:16:33 »
I sowed my seeds on 11th April. It was so hot that shot up and got very leggy before I noticed, so I selected the least leggy four and planted them up, burying asmuch of the stem as I could. They are now only about 3" high and just getting their second set of true leaves. Do you think they will still have time to produce fruit? Also the leaves seem to be getting paler. Should I feed them?

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
Re: Slow cucumbers
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2007, 08:50:37 »
Jolly well hope so!

This is a runt from my first sowing & it'll be fine.

Feed? Not if the compost was fresh. Make sure that there's moisture though.

caroline7758

• Hectare
  • Berwick-upon-Tweed
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2007, 09:33:01 »
Thanks , tim- it's my first year for cucumbers so wanted to check.

queen of the cobs

• Not So New ...
« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2007, 11:23:10 »
It's my first year for cucumbers as well and I was a bit unsure of how quickly they'd come on. Mine looks just like the picture Tim put up, so I'm really pleased you asked this question!

kt.

• Hectare
  • Teesside
« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2007, 12:20:39 »
First time here too. Mine are the same size. I am gonna transplant mine into blackbuckets with the bottoms cut out and into the allotment greenhouse today.
All you do and all you see is all your life will ever be

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2007, 15:02:33 »
Once they get their root system in order after transplanting they will romp away.

Then you will see what Tim meant when he asked me the other day if I 'pruned' mine.

Patience is the order of the day, after all Rome wasn't built in a day.

For the record I haven't planted mine out yet ............too small!

deboydoyd

• Half Acre
  • Bit of digging - it'll be fine