Author Topic: Why are our roses dying?  (Read 1604 times)

Melbourne12

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Harrow, Middx
    • Allotmenteering Blog
Why are our roses dying?
« on: April 30, 2007, 12:41:31 »
On a whim, we bought four scented roses to plant along the edge of the lottie.  They were planted according to instructions at the beginning of the year.  In March, all four started to show signs of life, but one of them sickened and died.  The leaves turned brown and the whole plant seemed to dry up.  Some of the stems went a very dark colour.

Now two of the remaining three are showing similar symptoms.  Some of the leaves have gone brown and dried up, and the stems are darkening in the affected areas.  The one remaining healthy one is also much larger than the two sickly ones.

We are absolute novices at growing roses.  We'd be really grateful for any advice.

Brogusblue

• Acre
  • I love roses and have nearly 80 of them.
    • SRS - Shredder Repair Services
Re: Why are our roses dying?
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2007, 13:16:45 »
Hello

I had the same problem with cheap rose bushes i purchased a couple years ago from Wilkinson's they wasn't very happy, I spoke to the rose society and they advised me that if you buy cheap roses you get what you pay for, My friend purchased a couple last year from b&q and they wasn't cheap but they lasted a couple of months before dying.

Have a look at this site http://www.rosebuddies.com/problems.html.

I have over 40 rose bushes in my garden and since then i have had no problems, apart from the normal ones like black spot and black and green fly.

Cheers
Brogusblue
I have been infected by the "rose virus"  ... I have surrendered to my addiction gracefully. There's no recovery"   On the other hand, imagine life without roses – a dreadful thought!

The Royal National Rose Society
                                     www.rnrs.org

Melbourne12

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Harrow, Middx
    • Allotmenteering Blog