Author Topic: Back Garden Plot!  (Read 1011 times)

LukeP

Back Garden Plot!
« on: April 24, 2007, 23:19:47 »
So, after longer than I care to remember waiting for an allotment in the wilds of South East London, a very friendly neighbour has allowed me to commandeer a small section of her large garden. Fantastic!

However, it’s overgrown with weirdly weeds that look like bluebells, (yep, I’m a complete beginner, never owned an allotment and only ever cultivated some Cinnamon Basil on the windowsill), has a two-metre square area where a bonfire has recently been festering and a lovely old rose bush slap bang in the middle that, I’m assured, looks lovely in bloom.

The whole area I’ve got to play with isn’t that big, perhaps 30ft by 30ft tops, but I've got access to a shed and hose.

So, I suppose this is my introduction to what seems to be a thriving forum and a request for some invaluable information from you knowledgeable souls.

What should my course of action take from the outset, literally? Get rid of those weeds, turn the soil over, start panicking when I accidentally uproot the rose bush? Any tips, comments or prayers will be gratefully received…

Many, many thanks in advance…

Luke

ps. My aim is to grow food. And then eat it.

katynewbie

• Hectare
  • Manchester
Re: Back Garden Plot!
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2007, 00:02:19 »
 ;D

Welcome Luke! Best advice is check the wiki at the top of this screen, check out methods of cultivation. Lots of helpful stuff in there. Sounds a great prospect, most importantly enjoy it! Grow what you like to eat and do not panic! There, that's it really, easy innit?

;)

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2007, 18:49:38 »
good on ya, luke, welcome..make a plan so's you can see where you want stuff and watch out for the rose roots..happy growing   :)

grawrc

• Global Moderator
  • Hectare
  • Edinburgh
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2007, 18:59:36 »