Author Topic: Total Newbie saying hi  (Read 5138 times)

*Mia*

• Not So New ...
Total Newbie saying hi
« on: April 22, 2007, 10:21:27 »
Hi!

Me and my partner got our keys on friday for our very first allotment!! I am so excited!  The only problem been, i know nothing lol  So i have been reccomended this site by another plot holder i got talking to yesterday, she tells me the people on here know everything between them.  So i just had to come see.

I have had a look around and must say it looks great......i can see my day has just been planed for me lol

My allotment, it's not overly big and i've dropped in real lucky with the fact been that my plot was taken only a month ago, they dug it all over (only a few weeds left in) then something happened and they had to give it up.....i dropped in at the right time and got lucky!

My first question really is...... what can i plant out now?  Straight into the ground?  Or am i better off starting things off at home first?  Th problem with that been i live in a very small 2 bed flat with 2 small kids, so space is very limited.  I do have a small garden (all paving slabs) which is shaded most of the day.

Is it too late for potatoes?  My neighbour (at the allotment) has given me some onion sets he had spare.....should these be going in now??  Also a pack of sweetcorn seeds??

I would also love to have a bit of the allotment for fruit (strawberries, raspberrys etc)..... is it too late now??

Sorry for so many questions in my first post!!!  I really am looking forward to getting to know you all and learning from you.

Many many thanks!!!

chlodonnay

• Not So New ...
Re: Total Newbie saying hi
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2007, 10:28:27 »