Author Topic: Potatoes - this is a really baisc question  (Read 966 times)

Suzanne

• Hectare
  • sun is shining
Potatoes - this is a really baisc question
« on: April 19, 2007, 19:23:40 »
You are going to think me completely simple with this one, but I haven't grown potatoes on my allotment before. Now I have a second plot and have bags more room I thought I would give them a go.

I planted my chitted tubers a couple of weeks ago and did water the holes when I planted them. But it hasn't rained since. My gut instincts say that potatoes are hardy little beasts and as they have been sat around since end of January chitting - so to speak - they won't mind waiting for the rain. But I also realise I am a complete and utter novice at this and could be wrong. I don't really want to ask the chaps at the allotment as I am not really convinced that they think much of my gardening skills and this question will just confirm their worst fears!

Help
Suzanne ???

allaboutliverpool

• Hectare
  • allaboutliverpool.com
    • My Allotment in Liverpool
Re: Potatoes - this is a really baisc question
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2007, 19:36:04 »
Leave them. They have their own inbuilt water supply and will be busy pushing roots out to find more. The longer they are out of sight the safer they are from frost.

http://www.allaboutliverpool.com/allaboutallotments1_homepage.html

Trevor_D

• Hectare
  • north-west London
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2007, 19:42:33 »
Yes, let them be. The only time you need to water potatoes is when they are in flower. And only then if it's a dry spell.

Suzanne

• Hectare
  • sun is shining
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2007, 19:44:07 »
Thank you. I'll leave them be and stop worrying.

milkybardave

• Not So New ...
  • Confused of Southampton
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2007, 07:36:03 »
Oh B**gger

As a complete novice also, I've been watering mine..... Do have some lovely growth though.

Should I stop with the water????

Dave