Author Topic: Hello, Newbie here... with a quick question??  (Read 1265 times)

milkybardave

• Not So New ...
  • Confused of Southampton
Hello, Newbie here... with a quick question??
« on: April 12, 2007, 11:11:48 »
Hi All

Stumbled across the site yesterday & have already picked up some interesting tips & advice.

I don't have an allotment (yet), but a couple of raised beds at the end of the garden, as a first time veggie grower I am reliant on what I'm reading in books, but think I'll be using you all for my "Stupid" questions that the books don't answer!

Both beds are approx 2m x2m (Like I said..small) and in the last week I have been most excited to see garlic, onioins(from sets) & radishes pop up through the soil. I also think that this morning I spied 2, yes 2 Carrot seedlings & 1 Parsnip!!!

After all of the above I'll finally get to my question......

I know that once the plants are established, they'll need feeding... so what do I use & how often??

All advice greatly appreciated.

Also In my plot I have:

Lollo Rosso (in a pot)
Spring Onions (in a pot)
Charlotte Potatoes (Guess what... they're in 2 big pots)
One cherry tomato plant (I can't stand the horrible things, but the missus likes them in a salad)(this is also in a pot)
Maris piper Potatoes In two short rows
Leeks
Little Gem Lettuce
Rocket
& plans for some Runner beans.

Thats about it... thanks for reading...  ;D

per meus pala EGO vadum cavo  With my spade I will dig

MacArthur Park

• Quarter Acre
  • Dewsbury, West Yorkshire
Re: Hello, Newbie here... with a quick question??
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2007, 11:40:04 »
Welcome to the site MBD. :)

I use organic chicken manure pellets from B&Q and organic tomato food from Sainsburys. I also put on homemade compost whenever it's ready plus leafmould to improve the soil. Hope that helps.

emmy1978

• Hectare
  • It's good to be in my gardening shoes again!
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2007, 13:33:07 »