Author Topic: winter squash, how can I maximise fruit production  (Read 2342 times)

crown princess

winter squash, how can I maximise fruit production
« on: April 09, 2007, 19:15:45 »
  :-\
Hi, I'm new to this, and not very puter literate to boot!  Here goes...............
I love growing pumpkin/winter squash, and wondered if any one knows how I can increase the number of fruits per plant, I grow on an allotment in raised (french intensive) beds, SPACE IS AT A PREMIUM, I grow for eating and winter storage and size of fruit is not particularly important, but I do like to grow different colours and textures etc.  How can I get more than 2-3 fruits per plant?   I only have room for about 20 plants and want as many fruits as I can get out of twnety plants (am trying 8 types this year, as I'm getting more greedy), my favourite to date is crown prince.
Any advice gratefully received.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2007, 19:20:32 by crown princess »

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
Re: winter squash, how can I maximise fruit production
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2007, 20:12:13 »
jeannine may have some tips for you, she's the squash queen  ;D

allaboutliverpool

• Hectare
  • allaboutliverpool.com
    • My Allotment in Liverpool
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2007, 20:27:19 »
I grew 2 Butternut squash plants last year on had 11 fruits. They were grown on freshly dug soil in a frame as I had no manure and it was a new plot.
Take a look at the set-up on

http://www.allaboutliverpool.com/allaboutallotments_Vegetables_squash_butternut.html

I will be disapointed if I do not get 40 squashes from 6 plants this year, enough to last all winter.

vegging out

• Quarter Acre
  • Weymouth,Dorset
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2007, 21:11:22 »

I will be disapointed if I do not get 40 squashes from 6 plants this year, enough to last all winter.

I'd be happy with half that from 6 plants. :)

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)