Author Topic: My first allotment!  (Read 957 times)

Linz_

• Not So New ...
My first allotment!
« on: April 06, 2007, 21:43:32 »
Hi all...

Picked the keys up yesterday for my first ever allotment!  Me an my mum (along with my 4 year old son and 14 year old nephew) will be tackling it!  It's not real big but its great for us as we are total newbies and have no clue lol

Been today and met a lot of the neighbours, all of who are lovely! (apart from the fact my next door neighbour had his car parked right in the middle of my plot lol)  and 1 of the guys has offered to plough and rake over the plot with his tractor for me.......is this a good idea???

Apparently the soil is real sandy....will this be a problem?  Also i have been offered as much well rotted horse manure as i want....and they will deliver it free!  Should i snap their hand off lol

I have spent all day on this site and have to say....its fab!  Looking forward to getting to know you all!

Here is a pic of my plot as it stands at the min...Have to say
, after seeing the state of some people on here i was pleasantly surprised by this one

OMG Where do i start?

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
Re: My first allotment!
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2007, 21:50:55 »
wow, seems like you've struck lucky there, good neighbours who'll help, free muck..seventh heaven..welcome to the site, I'd snatch their hands off and accept all the help you can get, you should have it ready for planting quite soon..happy plotting  ;D

triffid

• Hectare
  • Escaped... usually to my plot in NW London :)
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2007, 22:01:16 »
Hey, congratulations, Linz! Next to many of the 'before' pictures, that's a good plot you've got. And at least if it's sandy soil (and it certainly looks it!) it'll be relatively easy getting the weeds out.