Author Topic: Newbie wanting to get started  (Read 1984 times)

laurie

• Not So New ...
Newbie wanting to get started
« on: March 28, 2007, 10:45:16 »
Hello all, I'm a complete newbie to all of this and was just wondering if there is any drink I can make that will be ready for the summer months. I love the idea of sloe gin but think I've missed the boat on that. I've seen the thread on turbo cider, so I'll give that ago. I've got six demi johns in the shed that are half filled with a reddish liquid that I'm not sure what it is. As I said I am a complete novice at this so any advice would be very appreciated.

cleo

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments 4 All
Re: Newbie wanting to get started
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2007, 17:35:16 »
Laurie-scroll down to my post on `Elderflower Wine`-the book I suggest there is now very old but if you can find a copy it`s well worth looking at.

laurie

• Not So New ...
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2007, 09:58:01 »
Excellent. Thank you.
Anyone else have any ideas?
Whilst we're on this subject can someone tell me how to make sloe gin.

Thank you

triffid

• Hectare
  • Escaped... usually to my plot in NW London :)
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2007, 10:26:00 »
Sloe Gin
(you'll need to save this recipe till autumn unless you have a stash of sloes from last year in the freezer)

2 lb sloes
2 pints gin
8 oz sugar (or half-half sugar and honey)

Wash the sloes and bung them into a freezer bag. Freeze them fast so their skins split (this replaces the traditional chore of pricking each sloe with a needle or a blackthorn thorn, which is definitely a mug's game!)

When you remember your bag of frozen sloes, retrieve them and tip them into a large jar. Add the gin and sugar (or sugar and honey). Close the jar firmly and give it a good shake.