Author Topic: When?  (Read 3114 times)

Toni

• Not So New ...
When?
« on: March 22, 2007, 17:38:40 »
Hi. I'm a newbie and only got my allotment at the weekend. I know I have a few weeks of hard graft and digging ahead of me before I can realistically plant anything, but I was wondering how late I can plant pumpkins? I have a Halloween party every year and thought it would be fantastic to have my own pumpkins at it!     If its not too late, could anyone advise me on what seeds to buy?

Thanks

Toni

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
Re: When?
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2007, 17:59:08 »
You can sow in pots in the warm until May time really, depending where you are in the country, and then in April you could sow direct, altho protect them from the slugs as they will scoff them the moment they break through the ground!

You are spoilt for choice on what to buy.  If you just want good orange one then there are types like Jack O Lantern which are traditional round pumps, or if you want HUGE then there are varieties like Dills Giant and Hundred Weight, but they could do with starting off sooner rather than later so the fruits have time to get huge!  ;D

Toni

• Not So New ...
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2007, 19:25:43 »
Hi. Thanks for that.  I was just wondering though......would slug pellets be ok to use? I want to be as organic as possible and I'm quite sure that slug pellets dont fall under that catergory!!! (I'm having a debate with my fiance). 

I was thinking then, of starting some out in pots now (hopefully both Jack O Lantern and Hundred Weight), and then transferring them to the allotment when they've established themselves and I've got part of the allotment ready?

Toni

Leonnie

• Acre
    • A Country Garden
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2007, 21:57:43 »
You can buy organic slug pellets made by Growing Success. I'll be starting my pumpkin seeds indoors in mid to late April for planting out end of May or early June, depending how the weather goes. :)

busy_lizzie

• Hectare