Author Topic: Leeks and Beetroot  (Read 2192 times)

Norfolk n Proud

• Half Acre
  • From humble beginnings...
Leeks and Beetroot
« on: March 18, 2007, 17:45:15 »
Afternoon all, i'm very new to this gardening lark, and i have planted some leek seeds ( Lyon Prizetaker ) and beetroot seeds ( Perfect 3 ) in a couple of trays of John Innes No1, do i need to transplant them to bigger individual pots as the seeds come through ( which they are doing quite nicely ) or leave them for a bit longer and put them straight into the lottie? Any help, gratefully received.
Andy  ;)
Thas a rummun !!

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
Re: Leeks and Beetroot
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2007, 17:52:18 »
Beetroot straight out once they have a couple of true leaves... about 5 in total. The Leeks wait a bit, I've just pricked out 60 Lyon and 60 Autumn Giant, and now it has stopped snowing and there is still some light I'm going to do some more!
 ;D

Norfolk n Proud

• Half Acre
  • From humble beginnings...
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2007, 18:13:45 »
Cheers Saddad, the leeks are about 1 1/2 inches high at the min, what sort of size is big enough to prick out then?  :)
Thas a rummun !!

kt.

• Hectare
  • Teesside
« Reply #3 on: March 18, 2007, 22:55:34 »
I have always put beetroot straight in the ground as seed. Always come up trumps. Usually grow Boltardy, though gonna also try Detroit little ball this year. Anyone grown it? And does it need starting in trays?
All you do and all you see is all your life will ever be

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
« Reply #4 on: March 18, 2007, 23:29:09 »
The only reason I sow a cell tray full of beetroot is to gain a slightly earlier crop as I loves them!  In a couple of weeks time, I will start sowing directly right through until September.  Pulled the last of mine last weekend and have been enjoying them all week.

Leeks are all through, but still to small for pricking out.

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)