Author Topic: HELP! I'm new to this  (Read 17911 times)

Laurdan

• Not So New ...
HELP! I'm new to this
« on: March 19, 2007, 12:48:35 »
Can anyone advise me?  I have decided to take on an allotment with two others.

The plot has not been used for sometime.  It is just wild grass at the moment, how would you recommend we start.  Firstly we have to get rid of the grass, any suggestions?  Should I use roundup?  I have been told to mow the grass and then use roundup, I am concerned that this may not be a good idea for a vegetable plot.  All suggestions greatly appreciated.

sally_cinnamon

• Acre
  • "A posse ad esse" - From possibility to actuality
    • Got a new website - still not finished!!
Re: HELP! I'm new to this
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2007, 12:53:11 »
Hi and welcome to A4A!  Lots of helpful peeps on here to give advice, also use the search function to look for answers on similar posts...

I've just taken on an overgrown lottie so am probably in similar boat - do you have any pics to show us?  My friendly plot neighbours have recently sprayed my grassy plot with roundup, they said its the only one they allow on the site.  It took just over a week to start working and now most of the grass is yellow and dead and ready for raking up.  I would recommend it as otherwise you will be digging for quite a while!  At first I didn't want to have it sprayed but now I have and it will be giving me a great headstart, much needed at this time of year!

:)
Thank you to all who donated to the Moonlight Half Marathon Walk in aid of St Catherine's Hospice - my mum and I raised just over £300!!!    ............     Thanks!  :-)

Laurdan

• Not So New ...
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2007, 13:27:19 »
Is roundup harmful to the produce that I will hopefully grow on the plot afterwards?

bumble-dee

• Not So New ...
  • stoke-on-trent
« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2007, 13:41:19 »