Author Topic: Covering with plastic  (Read 1301 times)

keef

• Hectare
Covering with plastic
« on: February 03, 2007, 20:27:14 »
Just wondering what peoples thoughts are on covering areas with black plastic ? You see lots of people doing it - but is it a bad idea ? I know you can use cardboard, carpet, straw ??? but plastic is cheap and quick and easy to cover a big area.

I covered some of mine in the autum to stop weed growth before digging, but the soil underneath was very very dry when i pulled off the plastic. I'm thinking of setting aside some of my plot this year, cant be bothered hunting about for carpet etc.. as i've got the plastic - but perhaps it would be better left bare??
Straight outt'a compton - West Berkshire.

Please excuse my spelling, i am an engineer

manicscousers

• Hectare
  • www.golborne-allotments.co.uk
Re: Covering with plastic
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2007, 20:35:58 »
whatever works for you, it'll suppress the weeds and that's what you want  ;D

kt.

• Hectare
  • Teesside
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2007, 20:53:16 »
Plastic definatley works as you by now know too well. The soil will be fine once you have turned it. Plus it will probably rain prior to you sowing thus regenerating the soil ( along with your manure or compost)
All you do and all you see is all your life will ever be

RSJK

• Hectare
  • its great to be on the allotment
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2007, 21:13:15 »
Personly I do not like to see allotments covered in polythene and plastic but, that is just my view and I will not be pushing it down peoples throats, (thats my views not the polythene)    ;D ;D ;D
Richard       If it's not worth having I will have it

louise stella

• Hectare
  • We're half way there Mum!!!!!
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2007, 21:17:00 »
Why not try growing a green manure?

Suppress the weeds and feed the earth at the same time!

Louise

Grow yer bugger grow!

keef

• Hectare
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2007, 21:35:28 »