Author Topic: New to gardening - advice needed  (Read 5374 times)

jo9919

New to gardening - advice needed
« on: January 18, 2007, 11:42:24 »
Hi,

I'm new to gardening of any sort. I only have a tiny garden with one raised flowerbed, which I created last year and have done remarkably well with, for a novice.

At the end of last summer I purchased a 4 X 6 greenhouse, which I am going to use for tomatos and peppers. I grew some tomatos last year and they did very well on my patio.

This year I would love to get more involved with growing edible plants but don't have any spare earth, so this would need to be done in containers or alternatively I am considering purchasing a link-a-bord raised bed kit, which would be able to stand on my patio and would give me 2 squared metres of growing space.

I would like your opinions on this and also on what would be good first things to try. Also, I would appreciate information on where the best place would be to look for full instructions on the things I intend to grow. Would you recommend a particular book or website?

Thanks,
Jo.

supersprout

• Hectare
  • mulch mad!
Re: New to gardening - advice needed
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2007, 11:49:13 »
Hello jo, welcome to the forum :)
You'll get plenty of good advice, lots of people here grow their veg in containers. It sounds like you're set for a good growing season.
Recommendations?
Joy Larkcom, Grow your own Vegetables - tackles all the basics, friendly, lots of helpful planning, cultivation and propagation tips, and veg by veg guide :)
If you're anywhere near Oakham, contact Barnsdale Gardens and go on their Vegetables in Containers course - or as many as you like the look of - their courses aren't expensive, and you learn so much!

jo9919

« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2007, 13:20:25 »
Thanks for your reply, Supersprout. I will look out for that book, it sounds just what I need.
Unfortunately, I'm nowhere near Oakham, I'm in Leeds in Yorkshire.

Jo.

kt.

• Hectare
  • Teesside