Author Topic: talking of paeonies....  (Read 2191 times)

Ceri

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments 4 All
talking of paeonies....
« on: April 27, 2004, 15:09:40 »
A house that I'm working on at the moment is being completely renovated, gardens and all.  The front garden must have a dozen paeonies with large buds not long off flowering. (in Marine Ave for the Whitley locals)  I'm sure I can skank these from the Project Manager - but will they move well?  I've been told they can sulk for a while - I don't mind waiting a few years as they are so lovely - but is there a 'best' way of going about moving them?

Wicker

• Hectare
Re:talking of paeonies....
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2004, 15:55:04 »
I'm no expert but I do have an herbaceous paeonie (white/very pale pink flushings) in my allotment which has been moved about three times in it's 5/6 year life and split once into 3, one of which I gave away and now have the other two parts myself and they are thriving.  I do know that they are not supposed to like being moved but this one has survived and thrived.

Of course what you may be talking about are tree paeonies which grow bigger and have different foliage (dark green if I remember while mine is bronzey and more spikey).  

I would certainly think it's worth while taking them as they are gorgeous when in flower.
« Last Edit: April 27, 2004, 15:55:46 by Wicker »
Equality isn't everyone being the same, equality is recognising that being different is normal.

Muddy_Boots

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2004, 16:16:05 »
What the heck Ceri.  Speaking as one of the world's most intrepid plant movers ::), at anytime of the year, happily with very few losses :D,  you've got nothing to lose.  They need a good home, give em a go!

Best of luck  ;D ;D ;D
« Last Edit: April 27, 2004, 16:17:36 by Muddy_Boots »
Muddy Boots

Mimi

• Hectare
  • Pretty in Pink
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2004, 16:51:27 »