Author Topic: Solanum pseudocapsicum - Winter/Jerusalem Cherry  (Read 1720 times)

wahaj

• Hectare
  • prisoner
Solanum pseudocapsicum - Winter/Jerusalem Cherry
« on: January 14, 2007, 01:48:42 »
Hey,

I have a Winter Cherry that i'm using as a houseplant at the moment on an east facing window. does anyone have this plant at all? i want to know if it's hardy and ok for me to plant it outside.

i ask because i've germinated about 100 or so seeds i think. they're sitting in the boiler room at the moment with light and a bag over them...but i'd like to be able to plant them out eventually.

i saw someone's front garden had them planted in about 2 months ago....but i've read on the net that you should dig them out and take them inside to avoid frosts?

thanks.

Grandma

• Hectare
  • Worthing, West Sussex.
Re: Solanum pseudocapsicum - Winter/Jerusalem Cherry
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2007, 09:44:38 »
Hi Wahaj. I've no personal experience with this plant but a previous neighbour had one growing outside for years. It looked really happy and healthy. Mind you, it was in a sheltered, south facing bed - and we don't often get really hard winter weather in Worthing. I don't remember what happened to it - they may have taken it with them when they moved. Hope this helps a bit.

wahaj

• Hectare
  • prisoner
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2007, 20:09:15 »
Hi Wahaj. I've no personal experience with this plant but a previous neighbour had one growing outside for years. It looked really happy and healthy. Mind you, it was in a sheltered, south facing bed - and we don't often get really hard winter weather in Worthing. I don't remember what happened to it - they may have taken it with them when they moved. Hope this helps a bit.

thanks for the advice on that one.

i'm trying to make a winter interest bed just in front of the patio doors. something to look at with the fire on, on a cold winter's day.