Author Topic: newbie here- costs?  (Read 4633 times)

Vegemite

• Quarter Acre
  • Just got my first plot!
newbie here- costs?
« on: January 09, 2007, 16:45:32 »
Hello, I am soon to move to a seaside home with a not very big garden, by the time i fit in my two year old's toys and my dog there won't be any room for a veggie patch, so I have put myself on the waiting list for an allotment, which I am very excited about!

To say I'm an allotment virgin is an understatement, but as i now work part time and my daughter will soon start nursery I may actually have some time on my hands!

so I will have a good trawl through the threads for tips, but i did wonder if someone could give me an idea of the costs involved in running a small allotment. I trully do know nothing! ::)

cheers,

kylie
Allotment Virgin!
Thirty-something Mum of one just taken on an allotment needing lots of work after a twelve month wait. Let the fun begin!

Tee Gee

• Hectare
  • Huddersfield - Light humus rich soil
    • The Gardener's Almanac
Re: newbie here- costs?
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2007, 17:23:18 »
Do you mean rental or seeds & fertilisers etc?

If it is rental our plots are charged out at around £12 pa half that for pensioners but from previous answers to this query it can vary from area to area and also if the are council or privately owned.

If it is seed / fertilisers etc this is as long as a piece of string depending upon how you plan on getting your plant e.g. growing from seed (the cheapest way I find) or by buying in 'ready plants'

Fertilisers will depend upon your regime i.e. organic/non organic.

Sorry I cant be more helpful than that.

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2007, 17:26:45 »
Like all hobbies it can become obsessive and fair gobble up cash... but you can also do it on the cheap... see refs to skip raiding etc.
You can also ask for a few seeds of anything you fancy to get you going...
 ::)

Curryandchips

• Hectare