Author Topic: how do you plan a rotation plan if you don't know what has been grown before??  (Read 1000 times)

Sparkly

• Hectare
    • Flixton Band (Manchester)
I am a newbie to this and should be getting the go-ahead on my allotment by Monday (hopefully!!!!). I was thinking about sketching out a rotation plan today but I am not sure where to start.  Surely what has been grown before will influence this? but what if you don't know what has been there? What should I do? Just set up my rotation plan and hope for the best? Dig up all the allotment totally mixing alot of the soil? Any advice welcome!

sarah

• Hectare
its a good question. can you do a bit of detective work.  are there any stray plants left over such as potato or onion lurking. alternatively and perhaps easier would be to ask your allotment neighbour if they recall what was grown last season. maybe the plot hasnt been cultivated for a season or two in which case it wont matter too much. (i know - there may be white rot lurking somewhere but you can only go by what you can gleen.) good luck.

supersprout

• Hectare
  • mulch mad!
Hi again sparkly :)

If you're planning your new plot, plan it around you, the veg you want to grow, and to take into account soil variations.

After making a rough plan, take stakes, scissors and string, consider orientation, where you want your shed, greenhouse, paths, compost bins etc. Whoever had the plot before may not have followed a tall/short rotation, (North and South), or have the right areas (we hardly grow any spuds, so I include tomatoes in 'solanums' for rotation. If your soil is in good heart, a season's adjustment shouldn't hurt it. If the worst happens and you find you have e.g. onion rot on part of your plot, the only way to find out is to plant onions there - and 'red flag' the area for the coming season ::) I'd suggest staying with string and stakes for at least one season, as you may want to adjust your layout in the light of experience.