Author Topic: labels  (Read 2694 times)

Multiveg

• Hectare
  • Oops, been gone a while, but still allotmenting.
    • Forum
labels
« on: April 13, 2004, 15:16:01 »
Last year, I used so called permanent marker pen on labels - but this didn't last. I think there was a thread over in Kitchen Garden mag on labels and one suggested to use a Dymo label thingy. I managed to get one of these after Christmas - the Junior label thingy is less than a £10, and tapes are often sold over on eBay. I am trying them this year, and so far, all seems ok. IT is, however, tedious and hand-aching to do the labels.
Allotment Blog - http://multiveg.wordpress.com/
Musings of a letter writer, stamp user and occasional Postcrosser - http://correspondencefan.blogspot.co.uk/

aquilegia

• Hectare
  • hello!
Re:labels
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2004, 15:31:16 »
I've used a fine-tipped permanent white board marker on plastic labels (made by cutting up shampoo/bubble bath bottles). This is my first attempt at labelling and it's working well. The ink has not run/smudged yet. But then I'm only using it for seeds - I don't bother labelling things once they are in the ground - especially in the flower garden it looks quite horrid!
gone to pot :D

kenkew

• Hectare
  • Don't look now but...
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2004, 21:50:14 »
I cut up margarine tops and use a spirit based permanent marker. There are also pens especially made for writing on CD's that are good, but more expensive. If there's a problem with the ink 'not sticking, rub the plastic with a drop of lighter fuel, petrol, surgical spirit or Martell 3*** brandy.

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2004, 23:21:08 »
I use ice cream tubs, once they are empty of course  :P, and a permanent marker.  I have never been as label efficient as I am this year!

teresa

• Hectare
  • Happy gardening
« Reply #4 on: April 27, 2004, 10:09:40 »