Author Topic: Another newbie  (Read 1353 times)

tonyveggie

• Not So New ...
Another newbie
« on: October 15, 2006, 20:00:37 »
Hi to everyone

I'm another complete newbie. Wasn't been able to get a complete plot at my local allotment but was offered some small raised beds as an alternative. I've taken 4 measuring 6' x 4' as of this afternoon and thought I'd see what everyone thought of my plans for this modest beginning - especially given the time of year.

The beds have been untouched for the past year and are pretty much covered in weeds (not sure what yet as I haven't had the opportunity to have a close inspection). I'm really like the idea of the no-dig lasagne method and want to take a strictly organic approach.

So what I was thinking is to do the newspaper/compost lasagne thing on one or more bed. Also, to try sowing some winter field beans as a green manure. Obviously the size of the beds means that removing the weeds shouldn't be too time consuming - any advice on what weeds are ok to cover over using lasagne method and which should be removed? Also how to ID any particular nasties? (Will have a rumage on the net and the books I got from my local library but all suggestions welcome)

The nice lady who showed my around the plots suggested having a go at winter cabbages but the books I've got say you've got to sow them much earlier than now. I'm obviously keen to get something planted as soon as possible to keep me going through the looming winter! Any suggestions on things to grow through the winter or eating? I read that onions are a possibility. How long does it take for deliveries when ordering onion sets online, am I too late?

That's probably enough rambling for starters. Really looking forward to getting my hands dirty!

Hi to all again

Tony  :)

saddad

• Hectare
  • Derby, Derbyshire (Strange, but true!)
Re: Another newbie
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2006, 21:39:19 »