Author Topic: Blackberry and elderberry wine.  (Read 3574 times)

redrichwen

• Quarter Acre
Blackberry and elderberry wine.
« on: September 21, 2006, 14:54:40 »
Having looked through the recipes on here for wine, i don't seem to have enough fruit in my freezer to do either wine, so was thinking about doing a combined.  :-\
I have just over 3lbs of blackberries and just over 1lb of elderberries.
I'm a newbie to winemeking, just done two kits that are now bottled, but i want to doing something more from scratch,Anyone got any foolproof recipes??  :)

Also - any recipes for making wines from pure juices off the supermarket shelves??

Thanks in advance

Wendy

flatcap

• Not So New ...
Re: Blackberry and elderberry wine.
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2006, 15:57:06 »
hi wendy
making wine from fruit juice is easy we do this when were getting low on wine we use 3lb of sugar mixed in with fruit juice and water put yeast and yeast nutrient in demijohn pour liquid in and add pectolase i would just fill to the neck of demijohn cos weve had a few overflows with these :( and i hate cleaning wine off windows blackberrys mixed with apple or pineapple makes a nice wine pity mines all drunk amazing how many visitors you get when you make wine ;D
hope that helps brenda

redrichwen

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2006, 09:15:58 »
Hi Brenda

Thanks for your response. Just a few more questions if i may?
What ratio of fruit juice to water do you use.
What weight of blackberry and apple/pineapple.
Sorry for being a thicko, just want to get it right.

Thanks

Wendy

flatcap

• Not So New ...
« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2006, 12:45:39 »
hi