Author Topic: Alternatives  (Read 2061 times)

Tall Trees

• Not So New ...
Alternatives
« on: March 24, 2004, 13:05:20 »
So as you all may know from an earlier post i am new to my allotment.

Having read the current issue of the permaculture magazine and in particular the permaculture allotment story, i have been inspired to move slightly away from the normal allotment ideals

So far i have left a patch for wild flowers, a log pile/store for wood, wood chippings paths are being laid, compost bins for extra nice chippings are being built, a bath is being aquired for a pond to encourage frogs in to eat any slugs.  My wife and i have built a living willow iglo/bower and planted a small copice to supply future willow for making new structures and fedges.  The veg and herb beds to make the best use of the space and to add interest are to be various shapes but mainly triangles and semicircles.

It would be great to hear if any one else has anything on their plot that is a bit unusual or does anything that is not the norm.

Neil.

Les_Woof

• Acre
  • Ger orf ma land!!!!!
Re:Alternatives
« Reply #1 on: March 24, 2004, 13:19:42 »
Hi Tall Trees

We have constructed a decked patio area in our lottie.  We used 12 Baltic pine sleepers 3mx0.25mx0.1.  Which gives us a nice 3m x 3m decked area on this we have added two bench seats which again are a couple of sleepers sat upon some big logs.

As our lottie is next door to our house it doubles as a lottiegarden.

Will soon have some pics posted on the site for you all to see.

Les
All the hard work is finally starting to pay off.....

legless

• Hectare
  • Cheltenham, UK
« Reply #2 on: March 24, 2004, 13:48:47 »
i'd love to see some pictures tall trees if you have any. that sounds great, is permaculture magazine good? i've been interested in getting it...

Andi

• Quarter Acre
  • WBC...gizzaplot...pleease
« Reply #3 on: March 24, 2004, 14:22:27 »