Author Topic: Disappointing garlic  (Read 7795 times)

Mrs greenjeans

• Not So New ...
  • fighting the brambles on the banks of the Mole
Re: Disappointing garlic
« Reply #20 on: June 20, 2006, 16:24:35 »
Hi all,

I'm a bit of a newbie here....  I took over my allotment in early March and quickly stuffed some garlic in as thought it was still winter as far as I was concerned!

It's now about knee high or more and the green tips are drying out a bit. Do I leave it in or --as it sounds like you all are -- dig it up now and store it?

I suppose I could dig up one and check - just a bit nervous about spoilling one.

any advice appreciated!!!
 ???

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
« Reply #21 on: June 20, 2006, 16:50:22 »
Wait till the stems start falling over, then lift it. Since it was planted late you may have some 'solo' bulbs, which haven't split into cloves.

vaca

• Half Acre
« Reply #22 on: June 20, 2006, 17:14:07 »
I planted Purple Garlic from Seeds of Italy last October and over the last few days, they've all gone rusty. I dug one up which, like Tim said, had a thick hard stem - I thought below I'd find a large chunky garlic bulb. Instead, I uncovered a measly golf ball. I cut it open and it had split  :), but the cloves are not much longer than 1cm  :(  -  haven't lifted any others, but the rust may force me to have to do so this weekend.

Vaca

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
« Reply #23 on: June 20, 2006, 17:21:32 »
gj - don't worry - even if they are all 'solo', like mine will probably be, they will all be usable, fresh or frozen. Just not as strong.

The Garlic Farm has a very good harvesting guide.

http://www.garlicfarm.ca/growing-garlic.htm - see also:

http://www.garlic-central.com/growing/harvest.html
« Last Edit: June 20, 2006, 17:50:20 by tim »

amphibian

« Reply #24 on: June 20, 2006, 17:49:45 »
My stems are never going to fall over, you could use them as walking sticks.

tim

• Hectare