Author Topic: Appt to view plots next week  (Read 2232 times)

sazhig

• Half Acre
Appt to view plots next week
« on: May 06, 2006, 01:26:02 »
Hello everyone - new here so please be gentle :)

I am a growing novice (I have been know to kill what few plants I had in the past :-\) and have an appt next Thursday with the parish council lady to view one of the allotment sites in my village. It is a fairly big site & has quite a few empty plots which the newly formed associated have started strimming to try to get more of them rented out. I had a brief tour last week by one of the secretaries when I popped in to have a look round so have an idea about some of the plots, but she was unsure which were available still (I caught her without any paperwork that day!). The site itself is on a slop that faces north east I think and has plots of varying sizes. What kinds of things should I be looking at when I go next week to help me decide? Would sites at the top or bottom of the slope be best? A couple of these vacant plots have had bonfires on them - will this affect the soil at all? I intend to be completely organic so am keen to avoid chemicals etc. I felt a bit lost last week - I would like to get a good sized plot, but it was quite hard to tell how big some of them were as some are wide & short, others are long and thin & some were odd shapes ??? I am a bit of a planning & control freak so will probably agonise over this decision for ages, wasting time when I could be digging it over - please help me!

Thanks

Saz

Columbus

• Hectare
    • A Duel of Delight and Desperation Index page
Re: Appt to view plots next week
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2006, 06:59:27 »
Hi sazhig, Don`t be scared we are really nice  ;D