Author Topic: Advice on insect / pest control for a new gardener please!  (Read 2318 times)

ChilliPepper

Hello everyone!

Not only am I new to the this forum but I've also not long moved into a house with a garden so I'm new to allotment keeping too  :)  Forgive me if some of my questions appear very 'basic'  ;D

When we moved in our new place (from a flat) there was already a designated vegetable patch and a little greenhouse.  I spent the first weekend digging over the veggie patch and planted some herbs at one end and potatoes, lettuce and carrots at the other.  The greenhouse gained some tomatoes and chilli pepper plants.

Most of the stuff I've planted seems to be doing ok, but I've noticed that a few leaves have little 'nibbles' out of them, even in the greenhouse!  There are no obvious pests such as slugs about.

Could anyone recommend a basic means of controlling this sort of damage please?  I've learnt a bit about feeding my new plants, but I know nothing about insecticides etc.  Is there a good, general treatment I can put on my crops?  I have a very nosey cat too, so any chemical treatments would need to be pet friendly too please  8)

Thank you very much!

Motherwoman

• Quarter Acre
Re: Advice on insect / pest control for a new gardener please!
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2006, 22:14:29 »
It's probably slugs at night but if they are only little nibbles why do you need to squirt stuff all over them? You could try a torchlight search and a size 10 boot.
My idea of a good time is a new seed catalogue to read.

grotbag

• Hectare
  • granddaughter(miya) in Christchurch,Dorset
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2006, 22:41:12 »
Probably slugs,you can use various methods salt, soot, oat meal ,got a book 50 ways to kill slugs.it says if you get slugs and put in food blender then pour the puree on cats food the cat loves it !!

MollyBloom

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #3 on: April 30, 2006, 03:23:48 »