Author Topic: Planting out sweet corn  (Read 5186 times)

tricia

• Hectare
  • Torbay, Devon
Planting out sweet corn
« on: April 27, 2006, 23:16:23 »
I have a small, sheltered, walled garden here in the south-west and would like to get my Tender & True and Ovation sweet corn plants into the ground before I go into hospital for back surgery next week.  Would I really be tempting fate to do so? :-\ The plants are already strong and most are about 9 inches tall. This is my first attempt at growing sweet corn. It will probably be the end of May before I can get out in the garden again - and then only to supervise what needs to be done ::). By that time the poor plants would be so potbound!

There is so much to be done in May that I would like to get as much done before Tuesday as possible. The greenhouse toms, cucs and peppers. will be going into their final pots over the weekend - all are strong, healthy plants. The aubergine plants are still tiny so can wait a couple of weeks. Thank heavens for my friend who will take care of the watering for me. :D

Tricia

Svea

• Hectare
  • ...getting the hang of things...
Re: Planting out sweet corn
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2006, 00:05:37 »
the most important thing for the sweetcorn - and you know it's very early for it - is the soil temperature. if you can make sure that the soil they go into is warm, i.e. has it been covered in black plasic or something to prepare, this would mean they woud suffer less from transplant shock. other than that, if you have a kind neighbour who is willing to watch the temperature forecasts and throw some fleece on if needed.....

good luck  with it all
Gardening in SE17 since 2005 ;)

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2006, 07:42:43 »