Author Topic: cutting seed potatoes  (Read 2102 times)

veggie perin

• Not So New ...
cutting seed potatoes
« on: April 04, 2006, 22:48:46 »
as I'm a newbie, I'd like some advice on planting seed tatties, I read on a sight that cutting into 1" pieces( each one with at least one eye) encourages them to form good root system as they have very little flesh to feed on, or should i put whole ones or half ones in ..your thoughts on this would be appreciatedveggie

scotch-mist

• Acre
Re: cutting seed potatoes
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2006, 00:10:44 »
Hi vegie perin,
                     I was told to cut the chitted seed potatoes in half , with some eyes in each side too.

I asked an old hand whose son owns the local nursary and he told me this was done years ago to get a bigger crop, and that it wouldn't do any harm.

I expect this would work with 1" ones as well,
« Last Edit: April 05, 2006, 00:15:03 by scotch-mist »
UNDER PRESSURE (constantly)

petuariapete

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2006, 05:39:26 »
In the past, I have throw potato peelings on the compost heap and have cropped some potatoes from them. So I think the answer to your question is yes.
Cauliflower and sprouts are the Devil's banquet!

froglets

• Hectare
  • "Chust sublime"
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2006, 10:15:24 »
you know I never though about it, but I cut big tubers in half making sure there are healthy sprouts on either bit.  Me gran did it so I do it too.

I get the usual crop from both, neither better nor worse as far as I can tell, just an extra plant's worth.
is it in the sale?
(South Cheshire)

cliff_the_gardener

• Quarter Acre
  • Puschkina libanotica
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2006, 00:21:09 »
When I was a lad 1970's - I helped on the farm cutting potatoes and setting them out on wooded chitting trays.  One reason for doing it was to save money.  Incresed yield of sets to plant.
Clifford

deboydoyd

• Half Acre
  • Bit of digging - it'll be fine