Author Topic: Hi Newbie to the site  (Read 4237 times)

mamaswifty

Hi Newbie to the site
« on: March 20, 2006, 12:41:13 »
Hello everyone,very new to gardening but am very excited at the prospect of getting my hands dirty and repping the rewards.I am sharing a plot with afriend to see how I cope with it.My plan was to take on a plot next year as I am having major building works on my house starting June so thought that I should get that out of the way first then I can concentrate on the allotment.
As I have no experience in gardening but bucket loads of enthusiasm I was wondering if anybody could give me some advice on where to start.
As Spring is almost on us and the plot needs a lot of clearing would I be best off just clearing the site and preparing the ground for next year or should I consider clearing a small space and get planting ?
I have 3 children who are all very keen to help out and my partner is all geared up to do a spot of digging.I am thinking about buying shares in Quaker Oats and Raddox as I'm sure both will be used in vast quantities,LOL. ;)
I hope that I am posting in the right place,please feel free to move me to the right forum if not.
I look forward to reading any advice and tips that anybody might have.
Thank you for your time.  :)

katynewbie

• Hectare
  • Manchester
Re: Hi Newbie to the site
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2006, 12:50:42 »
;D

Hello and welcome!! It's very exciting to get a new plot isn't it?!!
If you look at the bits at the top of your screen you will see one called wiki..in there is lots of info that you will find useful, including a bit on how to make a start.

Also the search facility is very useful, just type in the topic you want to know about and a load of previous posts on that subject will appear...magic!! Dont worry about asking stupid questions, I have asked most of them already!! Hope you enjoy the site!!

GREENWIZARD

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2006, 12:52:21 »
ALL PHOTOGRAPHS ARE COPYRIGHT

mamaswifty