Author Topic: Growing Florence Fennel  (Read 11296 times)

Suzanne

• Hectare
  • sun is shining
Growing Florence Fennel
« on: February 09, 2006, 16:46:38 »
Hi..

I have only just taken an allotment on, but was hoping to grow my own Florence fennel this year. I have heard that they are very bad as companion plants and can inhibit other veg.

Has anyone got any tips on how I can overcome this.........do you have to put them in a bed on their own, or is the reputation not justified.

As you can guess I am new to this and this website, and I will be grateful for any info you can pass on.

Thanks

Ceratonia

• Acre
  • Cambridge
    • Personal (non-allotment) blog
Re: Growing Florence Fennel
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2006, 17:26:05 »
The reputation is justified. Their roots secrete chemicals which inhibit the growth of root hairs on neighbouring plants and also germination of seeds. It's called allelopathy Some plants are worse affected than others by fennel (eg lettuce), but I think the general advice is to put them in a bed of their own. At least you won't have to weed so much  :)

Does anyone know how to stop Fennel from bolting? Don't transplant and don't sow too early seems to be the advice, but it bolts anyway for me  >:(

Palustris

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2006, 17:38:45 »
The early sowings always bolt for us, butsowing in soil blocks in June and then planting out seems to work.
The bolted ones are still usable, even if they are not as pretty on the plate as the 'bulbs'.
Gardening is the great leveller.

derbex

• Hectare
  • I've come about the reaping
« Reply #3 on: February 09, 2006, 20:07:45 »
I sow Alora? in June or July -in modules. If I can keep the slugs away then it's generally OK. I think that there are other, earlier varieties though.

Jesse

• Hectare
    • News2Share
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2006, 22:48:49 »
does this reputation extend to herb fennel as well?
Green fingers are the extension of a verdant heart - Russell Page