Author Topic: Any advice?.........  (Read 3090 times)

eileen

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments 4 All
Any advice?.........
« on: January 28, 2006, 00:02:36 »
............. about which are the best, and hardiest,  deep water plants for a pond?  Our pond is a 10' circle and 3 & 1/2 foot in depth at the centre. I live in Scotland and we get some pretty severe frosts and winds here so they'd have to withstand whatever the climate throws at them.

EILEEN.

Life is like nectar sweet but sometimes sticky.

Mimi

• Hectare
  • Pretty in Pink
Re: Any advice?.........
« Reply #1 on: January 28, 2006, 09:35:01 »
Im only a newbie to ponds Eileen but I have found that the plant that does the best is a water lily.  There are different types for different depths,  small, medium, large or massive.  Im sure Margaret or William will be along soom with much better advice  ;)
Take time to stop and smell the flowers.

eileen

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: January 28, 2006, 10:39:35 »
Thanks for the reply Mimi.  ;D I already have lots of water lilies though in a variety of colours.. What I'm looking for is some kind of evergreen, architectural plants that will look good in the pond all year round. Don't know if there are such plants but thought I would ask anyway. None of the GC's around here seem to sell any.  :(

EILEEN.

joji

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: January 28, 2006, 16:31:53 »
Try this site it may help. :)

www.java-plants.com

Svengali

• Half Acre
    • Focalpoint-photo
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2006, 19:27:02 »
If you want something green, bushy, winter-hardy, and which is generally beneficial to your pond, try Canadian Pond Weed. If you have a clean bottom to your pond, plant a bunch in a container. If you have a muddy bottom, then also throw in a few loose handfuls. It will alternatly rise to the top, then sink to the bottom, and if it finds any mud, it will self root. As an oxygenator, it will also help the quality of your water. Tadpoles will eat it, & fish lay eggs on it.