Author Topic: Potato growing  (Read 2259 times)

garyp

• Quarter Acre
  • I love Allotments 4 All
Potato growing
« on: March 02, 2004, 08:22:57 »
I am a new allotment owner and one of the crops I intend to grow is potatoes. Having read some books it has left me a bit confused. I have bought some second earlies(Charlotte) and maincrop(sante). The couple of things that I am not too sure about are planting out times and earthing up as against covering with black plastic. It would be great to hear from you of your experiences of growing spuds and methods used. Thanks.

Sparky

• Quarter Acre
  • New chick on the lottie
Re:Potato growing
« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2004, 08:28:50 »
Have you/are you chitting them?  I am also new to all this but i posted a potato question on the produce area and got loads of helpful advice!!

Sparky

rdak

« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2004, 08:30:55 »
Hi there,
Well, I'm not an expert but until someone who knows what they're talking about replies, I'll give it a go. Firstly, I would treat the 2nd earlies and main crop the same, apart from when you plant them and when you harvest them. I'm sure the experts will have advice about other diffferences, but to keep it simple, I'd just treat them the same otherwise.

PLANTING
My second earlies (also Charlotte) will be going in some time late March to early April; and my main crop later in April.

HARVESTING
As for harvesting, I believe the most common time to harvest for 2nd earlies is shortly after the flowers appear. For maincrop I believe from what I've read here that it is best to wait until the foliage starts to die down.