Author Topic: Beekeeping  (Read 6199 times)

Robert_Brenchley

• Hectare
    • My blog
Beekeeping
« on: January 07, 2006, 09:20:33 »
Hi Moonbells.

It looks as though you need somewhere else to keep bees; the local Beekeepers' Association may be able to help. Don't worry too much about Varroa; it's not necessary to use persistent poisons, though many people do. I use thymol and oxalic acid, which are natural and non-persistent. It's been shown that bees can be bred for resistance, though we're not at that stage yet. My own bees are showing signs of resistance. You're obviously aware of it and that's the main thing. You can't do organic beekeeping in the UK anyway; you have to be six miles from anyone using pesticides, and how many places are there where you can claim that?

I can't help with oilseed rape; I've no experience of the stuff. I believe people cope with it by cutting out comb and melting it. Again, the BKA should be able to offer advice.

Is the restrictive covenant enforceable? Many houses in the part of Cornwall I used to live in had old restrictive covenants about things like a ban on putting washing or growing veg in the front garden, which weren't worth the paper that were written on.

moonbells

• Hectare
  • Growing up
    • Moonbells' allotment diary
Re: Beekeeping
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2006, 09:37:44 »
Unfortunately the covenant is enforceable as the builders are still in existence after 40-odd years and keep tabs!

Mind you, garden's not really big enough to cope with hives.  I suspect that it's another thing (together with the observatory and greenhouse) that will come when I have a long south-facing garden and bigger house!

(Dream on...)

I do know that you can come to some agreement with local farmers to put hives in fields where the crops are bee-pollinated, so that's always an idea.  I guess if it progresses beyond an idea I'll be joining a local group and learning as much as I can first!