Author Topic: It's my first year  (Read 1951 times)

Bello

It's my first year
« on: January 05, 2006, 15:41:24 »
Hello Everyone and Happy New Year.

I am preparing my allotment for my first growing year......It's feels somewhat daunting.
I thought I would start looking at which seeds to buy........there are Millions!!!
I mainly want to grow salads for the summer and experiment with other things.
I was wondering if anyone could recommend any variety of potatoes, lettuce, cucumbers, peppers etc, to help me on my way.

Thanks.

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
Re: It's my first year
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2006, 17:23:56 »
Do you have any protection for cus & peppers?

How many to provide for? Are they fussy about food?

Bello

« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2006, 12:24:57 »
Hi
I am only growing for my wife and little boy. He's not fussy and likes anything that's given to him.
I wasn't going to start planting until late March early April, is this to early for peppers.

Thanks for you reply.

Hyacinth

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments 4 All
« Reply #3 on: January 09, 2006, 13:02:58 »
Hello! No, not too early for peppers; they need an early start, with heat, to get the growing season they need..

If you want salad leaves - look for me in Swap Shop - loads going free!

Cheers and good gardening,

Lishka

supersprout

• Hectare
  • mulch mad!
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2006, 17:34:09 »
Hello Bello, lucky you having the prospect of grow your own for the first time!
Just write down all the things you & your family enjoy eating that would grow, then grow as many as you might need or have space for! There's no shame in growing only ONE courgette plant for example, even though you might have squillions of seeds. You want to keep your friends after August ... ;D