Author Topic: container veg  (Read 2103 times)

amanda21

• Acre
  • 40's the new 30 - right?
    • ...and I Hate Worms!
container veg
« on: December 27, 2005, 13:46:55 »
I hoped to have a plot by now but it's not looking good at the moment!  So instead of sitting and sulking (for any longer!) I thought I would have a go at some container veg for this year.  I have a very small garden which is mostly north-facing so the situ is not ideal (however I do have a heated conservatory)but can anyone recommend the best things to have a go at (I am a complete novice where veg is concerned) and when I should start - is there anything I can get going in the conservatory now while I'm still keen?!   :)
http://ihateworms.blogspot.com/  - Why then do I so want an allotment?

Derekthefox

• read only
  • Hectare
Re: container veg
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2005, 14:16:47 »
Garlic should be ok outside, but may benefit from a couple of weeks indoors to wake the roots up. Onion from seed are suitable to sow now ... and shallots of course.

cleo

• Hectare
  • I love Allotments 4 All
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2005, 14:24:43 »
I would be careful about sowing `veg` now-it`s not just the cold as much as the light.

But you can do a few things,sow mixed salad leaves,herbs such as coriander(all indoors)-they will not get to maturity but will give you a cutting of fresh leaves.

And keep sprouting seeds for salad,mung beans,fenugreek,cereals,chick peas-and even pea seeds-sprouted peas are the `new black` ::)

Derekthefox

• read only
  • Hectare
« Reply #3 on: December 27, 2005, 14:41:35 »
Excellent and valuable observation cleo, I think we are all guilty of trying to 'rush' the seasons at this time of year ...

amanda21

• Acre
    • ...and I Hate Worms!
« Reply #4 on: December 27, 2005, 15:08:42 »