Author Topic: Red Cabbage  (Read 3281 times)

wardy

• Hectare
Red Cabbage
« on: December 23, 2005, 21:33:15 »
Timely reminder for all those newbies that you MUST   grow red cabbage as it's the law!

This is my first year on the lotty and never seen a red cabbage, let alone grown one. I have just cooked my first vat of braised red cabbage ever and have brought the neighbours flocking in to see what's cooking  ;D  The smell is fantastic.  I previously would have thought red cabbage yuk  Now I've seen the light.  So all you newbies get some red cabbage seed and by Christmas you too will have pots of lovely braised red cabbage  :)
I came, I saw, I composted

grassroots

• Half Acre
  • If at first you dont succeed GIVE UP.
Re: Red Cabbage
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2005, 21:45:19 »
Wardy, also very nice pickled.

wardy

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2005, 21:48:31 »
Very lovely pickled but braised is a whole new ball game. If you're into food then braised red cabbage has to be up there with foi gras and truffles  ;D

Delilah

• Hectare
  • its OK to be slightly cracked!
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2005, 22:00:46 »
Ok then Boss - if its the law I shall obey ;)
If you don't make mistakes, you'll never make anything!

undercarriage plan

« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2005, 22:06:55 »
Instructions Wards!! I've got loads and was going to turn it into ice cream....how did you create this???

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
« Reply #5 on: December 23, 2005, 22:17:38 »
mmm...fabulous raw also!

wardy

• Hectare
« Reply #6 on: December 23, 2005, 22:34:34 »
these red cabbages are all they're cracked up to be.  Never grown one before this summer nor eaten red cabbage raw, pickled or braised.  Lots of things to learn from this lottying lark.  One is to keep an open mind about food that you thought you might not like. I thought I'd hate red cabbage and celeriac. Am now converted to both and eat them at every opportunity.