Author Topic: What to plant in december?  (Read 2758 times)

Gravell

• do what you love.
What to plant in december?
« on: December 14, 2005, 11:34:32 »
I'm new to all this gardening malarkey, but would like to make use of the garden during the winter, what could i plant now!!
if it barks, bite it,If it bites give it a goaddamn kick.

terrace max

• Hectare
Re: What to plant in december?
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2005, 12:12:16 »
If we get the usual mild spell over Xmas you could bang in some overwintering onion sets and some garlic.

The sort of veg you see in people's plots around now (like leeks, kale, brocolli, sprouts etc) were planted late last spring. And it's a bit early for early salad leaves. You could try some lamb's lettuce, though.

Things really kick off again next month when seed potatoes are delivered and some of us sow tomatoes, aubergines and the like.

I'd suggest you spend this quiet time reading up, ordering seeds, making plans and making your significant others feel valued. There'll be no time for that in a few weeks!
I travelled to a mystical time zone
but I missed my bed
so I soon came home

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2005, 18:12:39 »
Me, I will be planting my bum in a comfy armchair with my gardening mags, seed catalogues....and holiday brochures (well, a girl can dream!), and wait until spring springs!

growmore

• Hectare
  • Practice Beats Theory. Don Valley South Yorks
« Reply #3 on: December 14, 2005, 18:37:00 »
There's the old saying"Sow your shallots on the shortest day and harvest them on the longest"..Jim
Cheers .. Jim

Derekthefox

• read only
  • Hectare
« Reply #4 on: December 14, 2005, 19:21:05 »
I was discussing this very subject this afternoon, and was surprised to find that later sowings eg spring, lead to a more reliable crop, although harvesting is of course moved back until september ... I may decide to adopt this approach for shallots this coming season ...

Derekthefox :D

Robert_Brenchley