Author Topic: fungus  (Read 1739 times)

Jclaire

fungus
« on: November 09, 2005, 20:53:39 »
Hello everyone I am  a newbie here..look forward to chatting with you all. I have been keeping a pond for 4 years with no problems ....till now ???. My Ghost Carp has fungus growing . He has two patches either side the top of his back , with another patch further down his back which looks ulcerated.
I have isolated him in a small tank in the garage, and treated him yesterday with Potassium Permanganate(hope that is spelt right!) It seems to be working, as I scraped the fungus off yesterday and so far it hasn't returned.
What I am wondering is , how often should I treat him, to ensure this fungus doesn't return....yesterday he had 4 dips in close succession..each dip lasting approx2 - 4 minutes.
Regards
Claire

chriszog

• Half Acre
Re: fungus
« Reply #1 on: November 09, 2005, 20:57:41 »
Hi and welcome to the site
It sounds like the treatment is fine the only thing i can say is dont scrape off the growths this will only do more harm. Keep him isolated and keep an eye on the open sore. It may only be a case of Carp pox due to the adverse weather.
keep an eye on him and good luck
Regards
Chriszog

Jclaire

« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2005, 21:09:35 »
Hi chriszog ...thanks for the quick reply :D ...must admit I wondered if I was doing the right thing by scraping, as I noticed this morning he is looking very sore :-\. When would you recommend a repeat dose of pp?
I made a BIG mistake with him the other day someone recommend that I buy an Aquarium heater and set it to just under 20c...to help the treatment along (this was when I was using a proprietary brand of stuff for fungus infection... well it just made  the fungus grow at an alarming rate ,so what a waste of money that was!! :-[ :-[
Claire

chriszog

• Half Acre
« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2005, 21:36:41 »