Author Topic: Folding Wheelbarrows  (Read 2014 times)

EmmaLou

• Half Acre
    • www.peachpicture.co.uk
Folding Wheelbarrows
« on: October 13, 2005, 15:56:32 »
I am thinking about getting a folding wheelbarrow to use at the allotment. The reason I want a folding one is because it needs to fit in the car so that I can put all my tools etc in it to transport them to my plot. I am finding it very difficult to carry everything and I'm not very good at planning what I need, so tend to take all my tools. (Some of you may already know that we aren't allowed sheds to store stuff on our site).

Do any of you use one of these? If so what do you think of them? Do they last very long?

Emma

BAGGY

• Hectare
Re: Folding Wheelbarrows
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2005, 18:17:48 »
Before i got the hang of the site wheel barrows i used to use a huge blue ikea bag to carry stuff from the car.  Was esp good for carrying mulch from the car park to the plot.  And they're £1.50 i think
Get with the beat Baggy

adam04

• Hectare
  • Who are you?
    • FedEx VG
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2005, 18:21:05 »
cant you all chip togather or something and buy a wheelbarrow between a few of you on your plot and find somehwere to leave it?? then you can just use the one at the site for lugging tools around.

i dont know how strong the fold-up ones would be for holding toools etc all the time, i imagine they are fine for holding plant maetrial grass cuttings and a few smaller tools but not to sure if a fork would just go straight through it.

EmmaLou

• Half Acre
    • www.peachpicture.co.uk
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2005, 20:20:10 »
I have found this one:
http://www.drgrowgood.co.uk/garden_barrows_carts.htm

looks quite good as it has extra bits on the side to hold tools.

At the moment I am using a huge sports/travel bag, but it has already got holes in it. I don't think the site do shared equipment and I don't know anyone there that I could buy a wheelbarrow with.