Author Topic: Peppers  (Read 3199 times)

wendsbends

• Not So New ...
Peppers
« on: September 23, 2005, 21:41:01 »
This is my first year on the allotment.  I've grown some peppers, a freebie packeet with T&M.  I do have lots of peppers, however, they are all green and wondered how long I'd have to wait until they turned red if they do.  The packet doesn't say anything but has green and red peppers on it.  They are uncovered at the moment, should I cover them with fleece soon.

Thanks

Mrs Ava

• Hectare
Re: Peppers
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2005, 22:11:25 »
I think you are pushing it hoping to get red peppers outside now.  But, peppers are just as yummy green as they are red!  If you can wrap them up it might protect them for a bit longer, but they are very tender and a frost will bump them off.  I don't think wrapping them up will encourage the fruit to ripen either, I think that is more to do with sun and heat.  Pick them and bring them in, they may colour up in the warmth of the house, but me, I would use them!

wardy

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2005, 22:32:02 »
I agree with EJ.  It doesn't matter what colour they are - they're still good eating.  I've fetched mine in off the lotty and been eating them raw, with rice, in chilli, in soup  :)  Hopefully will still get a few more  :)
I came, I saw, I composted

raisedbedted

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2005, 22:35:06 »
I ripened a load of green ones on the windowledge - they turn red very quickly.

Now that its turned colder I've dug up a couple of the plants and have potted them up and have them inside.  Last winter I had chiilies right the way through picked fresh off the plant.
Best laid plans and all that

Maddy

• Half Acre
« Reply #4 on: September 24, 2005, 02:32:05 »
Thanks for that, I think I'll cut my losses and start eating them now.

M.

tim

• Hectare
  • Just like the old days!
« Reply #5 on: September 24, 2005, 07:49:35 »