Author Topic: I'm a newbie  (Read 3162 times)

WelshLeeks

I'm a newbie
« on: September 24, 2005, 07:36:01 »
Fistly let may say what a good site this is and hello to you all.

I've just got myself a half-plot that, fortunately has been covered with black plastic for at least the last 6 months (according to the Secretary).

I would like to be able to put something in now to get the children interested whilst I concentrate on the majority of the plot.

Any ideas for veg that will cope with most soil conditions and weather seeing as it looks like the weather has turned. ???

Many thanks.

Rich

flowerlady

• Hectare
  • "Tug-o-Weeed!"
Re: I'm a newbie
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2005, 08:37:51 »
Welcome to you Welsh Leeks :)

Always good to see new faces.

The quickest thing that I have had germinate on my plot was radishes!!  How old are your children, and do they like radishes?

If you have a nearby nursery they might be selling little brassica plants.  Last w/e I came across boxes of tiny leeks to plant on.  This would give them something to do instantly and then to care for.

Salads can be sown now, but you may need a plastic tunnel depends where you live.

Onions and garlic are being put in at the moment.

For me the next vegetable crop sowing will be the broad beans, but not until end Oct / Nov time. 

So that will give you lots of time to DIG! ;D

Have fun, and take it easy, enjoy yourself it's not supposed to be hard work.
To everything there is a season and a time to every purpose under heaven: a time to be born and time to die: a time to plant, and a time to pluck up what is planted.     Ecclesiastes, 3:1-2

wardy

• Hectare
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2005, 09:43:55 »
A good one for the children is mixed chinese leaves.  Sow a small row now, then another one in a couple of weeks and so on so you can be eating them at will!
Works with winter lettuce seeds which are now going in.  I'm going to try and sneak in another row of carrots (Autumn King)