Author Topic: school growing club  (Read 5406 times)

Nathan

• Quarter Acre
school growing club
« on: August 25, 2005, 18:10:22 »
I am a relatively new convert to growing food but am enjoying it immensely, and I am thinking of starting a growing club at the boys secondary school where i work.

There is huge potential here, because other members of staff are on the healthy schools committee, and the groewing club could be part of something bigger, selling food to the caterers, using compost from school dinners, etc.  There is also scope for GNVQ courses.  (Vocational courses.)

I would like to hear from anyone who has experience of a project along these lines.
Nathan

madmum

• Half Acre
Re: school growing club
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2005, 18:54:01 »
Hi Nathan
I am new to A4A but have been involved in school gardening for a couple of years, although at a primary school rather than secondary.
The children really enjoy it and it fits in as a cross curricular activity, including PSHE.
The HDRA has a free schools scheme where if you sign up you will receive free seeds for the school to plant .
Also may be worth seeing if there are any parents who are available to help out instead of relying purely on overstretched staff members, although the experience and time in the fresh air would do them good I expect!
Good Luck
If I can help any more then let me know.

undercarriage plan

« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2005, 22:58:48 »