Author Topic: dont panic!!!  (Read 2668 times)

gayle

• Not So New ...
dont panic!!!
« on: August 17, 2005, 08:59:43 »
ive been reading that you can plant potatoes now, but im not ready yet, can i plant potatoes in couch infested ground?
Ive been told that they clear the ground, is this right?
If you put potatoes down now would they be earlys?

As you can read im new to all this, i wanted to grow potatoes but i thought you did not plant till spring next year!
So far ive got some leeks and a few purple sprouting broc.

wardy

• Hectare
Re: dont panic!!!
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2005, 09:18:04 »
You can buy spuds from Fothergills etc for planting out now so the idea is you have spuds in time for Christmas.  If you have nowhere ready to plant them you could put three or so in a tub as I am doing  :) 

I grew my early and maincrop spuds on top of cardboard and manure, covered over with black sheet mulch and planted the spuds through holes I'd made in it.  this just saves digging and weeding which I don't like doing  :)
I came, I saw, I composted

amphibian

« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2005, 12:49:11 »
ive been reading that you can plant potatoes now, but im not ready yet, can i plant potatoes in couch infested ground?
Ive been told that they clear the ground, is this right?
If you put potatoes down now would they be earlys?

As you can read im new to all this, i wanted to grow potatoes but i thought you did not plant till spring next year!
So far ive got some leeks and a few purple sprouting broc.

I have heard that both potatoes and brassicas help clear couch, I am planting brassicas in dense soil which has only been vaguely cleared of couch. So I hope it works out.

wardy

• Hectare
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2005, 14:33:24 »
Mine's not been cleared of couch.  Thought the cardboard, manure, spuds and black plastic on it for about 5 months might have had some effect but no  :)  It's rearing its ugly head now the placcy has come off