Author Topic: Winter crops  (Read 1583 times)

pembo

• Not So New ...
Winter crops
« on: July 12, 2005, 14:39:56 »
Just want to ask anyone to give me a list of any crops I can sow in October/Nov to over-winter.  Just a list will do. I am new to all this, have done o.k. with the lottie so far this year, although didnt take it on until May.  People have been so generous giving me plants etc, to get me going.  A really nice bunch!!!  But having sorted out some of the planting area, I want to finish the rest and then think about the rest of the year, and what I can expect in the Spring!!!  Thanks so much for yr support..   ???  Pembo
When the going gets tough, the tough get going!!

Crash

• Half Acre
  • Viva Las Vegas
    • Crash n Donnas blog
Re: Winter crops
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2005, 14:45:32 »
Hi
I was just about to ask the same sort of question. I've just rang the allotment field secretary to see if there was any chance of me getting a plot. He's told me that 3 are coming up in or before October. I know that I'm going to have a lot of work to do when I do get it and I most probably won't even get to plant anything till the spring, but I'm keen to start. Look forward to your advice.

fbgrifter

• Acre
  • All change
« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2005, 15:05:11 »
at that time of year i plant/sow:

onion sets
garlic
spring cabbages
peas 'Feltham's First' (under a cloche)
hardy lettuce (under a cloche)
mizuna (under a cloche)
lamb's lettuce (under a cloche)
spinach (under a cloche)
hardy annual herbs

if the ground isn't to wet/cold then you should plant any fruit trees/bushes at this time too and also rhubarb.

you can also sow broad beans