Author Topic: Where's my veggies?  (Read 1568 times)

cheddarpaul

• Quarter Acre
Where's my veggies?
« on: July 09, 2005, 19:10:36 »
Hi all - I hope you can help me (as a newbie I need alot of help!)

In mid to end of May I planted some carrots, cabbage, swede, cauli, sprouts and brocolli on my lottie.  To date there has been not one single sign of life from any of them!

Am I too early expecting to see something above ground for this lot of vegetables, or, am I already too late and lord knows what happened to them all?

I would appreciate any guidance or advice (or sympathy if so needed)

Ta

Cheddar, Somerset

ALAN HOWELL

• Half Acre
  • I love Allotments4All
Re: Where's my veggies?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2005, 19:33:45 »
Hi....I am at loss to understand why you have not seen anything germinate,I can only suggest that maybe the ground was extremely dry when you sowed them.When sowing seeds it is adviseable to water the seed drill b4 sowing,this gives the seed some immediate moisture to use to germinate.An alternate plan would be to grow your brassicas in cells.then plant out when ready,this is how I ,and most gardeners do it.
Obviously you can't do this with carrots and parsnips,but most of your list you can.
I would go for sowing Swede,Carrots,and try to find a local supplier for Sprout and Savoy cabbage plants,and get them in as soon as pos.Hope this helps............Alan
I GOT A LOTTA LOTTIE

Derekthefox

• read only
  • Hectare
« Reply #2 on: July 09, 2005, 19:50:36 »
When you say you have seen no signs, I presume weeds are growing happily?
I ask this because the ground could be sterile due to weedkillers etc.
Assuming that weeds are sprouting ok, then it is worth trying some germinated plants, eg late cabbage to make sure stuff can grow ok

as mentioned above , make sure they are well watered, as lack of water will stop almost anything.

cheddarpaul

• Quarter Acre
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2005, 20:12:10 »