Author Topic: hello! Newbie here  (Read 3044 times)

aquilegia

• Hectare
  • hello!
hello! Newbie here
« on: January 08, 2004, 15:09:58 »
Thought I'd say hello and introduce myself...

I'm fairly new to this gardening lark, being only in my third year of having my own garden, although I helped mum and gran out a lot as a child.

Hubby and I now have a small garden (I'm no good at guessing distances, but I think it's about 10m square), which is my domain - he does the digging and lifting!

It's gradually developing into an organic cottage garden wildlife haven and kitchen garden. (I'll post some pics when I get new ones!) Trouble is I already have grown out of it and want an allotment, although I really don't have time for it!

And as you can probably tell from my login, my favourite plant is aquilegia.

So tell me about your garden...
« Last Edit: January 01, 1970, 01:00:00 by 1077926400 »
gone to pot :D

Margaret

• Hectare
  • My precious granddaughter Lauren
Re: hello! Newbie here
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2004, 15:17:52 »
Hi and welcome to our very friendly board.You will love it here with all the facilities Dan gives us to play with.My garden is nothing great but I too garden with wildlife in mind,as I have a nature pond with lots of frogs and newts all looking for slugs and other insects,and a lot of hungry birds.And as you can guess from my little pic,I love my fish in 2 big ponds.The plants and flowers have to take second place to the fish.
Where do you come from,and have you been on any othere boards before?
Margaret

mysticmog

• Acre
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2004, 15:19:23 »
Hi Aquilegia...welcome to a4a...

I'm also pretty new to gardening, and took on a full sized allotment in September last year, as I live in a high rise and don't have a garden..

It's very very overgrown but clearing it has been really theraputic, and I'm at the stage where I have a couple of potential beds, which is great!  I'll actually have something growing in the spring...