Author Topic: tomato plants- to pinch or not to pinch  (Read 5137 times)

clara

• Not So New ...
tomato plants- to pinch or not to pinch
« on: June 24, 2005, 22:01:50 »
Hello, I'm new to allotments4all, and I'm hoping this is an ok sort of question.
I have about a dozen various tomato plants growing well (abut 18 inches tall) in growbag.  BUT I have forgotten what varieties they are.  They are producing side shoots.  Is there any way of deciding whether or not to pinch out the side shoots ?

shaolin101

• Half Acre
    • Kungfu and Fitness in London
Re: tomato plants- to pinch or not to pinch
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2005, 22:18:38 »
i have 3 and have no idea what they are. i have let the bottom leaves fall off and am not taking anything off just in case! they are producing flowers now thankfully!
Keep getting worried that the stuff I grow will taste nasty - or turn out poisonous!

RobinOfTheHood

• Hectare
  • South Yorks
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2005, 22:36:26 »
I know the general concensus is to pinch out the side shoots, but has anyone left them in? I seem to be pinching them out daily on my plants.
I'm just not sure if I'm actually helping matters.
Explanation please?  ???
I hoe, I hoe, then off to work I go.

http://tapnewswire.com/

Roy Bham UK

• Hectare
  • Let's press flesh
    • http://community.webshots.com/user/roybhamuk
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2005, 22:45:22 »
I think you will find in the archives of recent chat that there are details including pictures of how to go about removing these shoots.

I believe the reason for removal is to make the plant put all its energy into the fruit, there will be an expert along in a mo I'm sure to put you right. ;)

Type tomato in the search facility it may reveal all. ;D

RobinOfTheHood

• Hectare
  • South Yorks
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2005, 22:54:58 »